2024 Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe Business Committee and Chairperson Elections

Two (2) Tribal Business Committee positions will be elected this year, the positions currently held by Anthony Charles and Steve Joaquin Robideau. The election will be held from the list of eligible tribal members who accepted their nomination for the 2024 Election, or voters may write in the name of any person who is eligible to hold office as an alternative to voting for a nominated candidate. The other members of the LEKT Business Committee are Russell N. Hepfer and Melissa Gilman (whose terms expire 2026), Frances G. Charles (whose term expires in 2025).

The Election Committee of the Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe herby gives notice of the schedule for the 2024 elections, as follows:

Monday, April 1, 2024 – Nominations for Business Committee Candidates, 7:00 PM, at the regularly scheduled Community Council Meeting at the Lower Elwha Tribal Center in Room 13. If a quorum is not present, the Election Committee will conduct the nominations.

Wednesday, April 3, 2024 – Deadline to Submit Acceptance of Nomination. Rule 5.3 of the 2024 Election Rules and Regulations requires any nominated candidate to provide written acceptance of the nomination in order to be on the ballot. If a nominee fails to provide this written acceptance by that deadline, his or her name will not appear on the ballot, but will still be eligible for election to the Business Committee as a write-in candidate. Written Acceptance of nomination may be submitted in one of two ways: (1) at the Community Council Meeting on April 1, 2024, by handing in the completed acceptance form to the Election Committee; (2) by sending the completed form in an email to <u>elections@elwhaelections.org</u> no later than 5:00 PM on April 3, 2024.

Saturday, May 4, 2024 – Election of Business Committee Members. There will be a polling place at the Tribal Center, which will be open from 9:00AM to 5:00 PM for in-person polling. Mail-in ballots will also be used. All mail-in ballots must be received at the official post-office box or the polling place by Election Day (May 4, 2024). Any ballots not received by Election Day WILL NOT be counted, regardless of when they were mailed.

Saturday, May 25, 2024 – Election of Chairperson. There will be a polling place at the Tribal Center, which will be open from 10:00AM to 8:00 PM for in-person polling. Mail-in ballots will also be used. All mail-in ballots must be received at the official post-office box or the polling place by Election Day (May 25th, 2024). Any ballots not received by Election Day WILL NOT be counted, regardless of when they were mailed.

The 2024 Election Rules and Regulations have been adopted by the Election Committee in accordance with the Tribal Constitution and have been mailed to all tribal members of voting age, and are also available on <u>www.elwha.org</u>.