2019 Business Committee and Chairperson Elections Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe

The Election Committee of the Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe hereby gives notice of the schedule for the 2019 elections, as follows:

April 1 (Monday), 2019 – Nominations for Business Committee Candidates, 7:00 **PM**, at the regularly scheduled Community Council Meeting at the Lower Elwha Tribal Center. If a quorum is not present, the Business Committee will conduct the nominations.

April 3 (Wednesday), 2019 – Deadline to Submit Acceptance of Nomination. Rule 5.3 of the 2019 Election Rules and Regulations requires any nominated candidate to submit this signed form to the Election Committee by the close of business on April 3 in order to be on the ballot.

May 4 (Saturday), 2019 – Election of Business Committee member. There will be a polling place in Room 13 of the Tribal Center, which will be open from 12:00 noon to 8:00 PM. Mail-in ballots shall also be used and all mail-in ballots must be mailed so as to be received at the official post-office box by Election Day, May 4, 2019. Any ballots not received by Election Day WILL NOT be counted, regardless when they were mailed.

May 25 (Saturday), 2019 – Election of Chairperson. There will be a polling place in Room 13 of the Tribal Center, which will be open from 12:00 noon to 8:00 PM. Mail-in ballots shall also be used and all mail-in ballots must be mailed so as to be received at the official post-office box by the Chairperson Election Day, May 25, 2019. Any ballots not received by Election Day WILL NOT be counted, regardless when they were mailed.

One (1) Tribal Business Committee position will be elected this year, the positions currently held by Frances G. Charles. The Election will be held from the list of eligible tribal members who accepted their nomination for the 2019 Election, or voters may write in the name of any person who is eligible to hold office as an alternative to voting for a nominated candidate. The other members of the Lower Elwha Business Committee are George Charles and Russell N. Hepfer (whose terms expire in 2020) and Anthony Charles and Steve Joaquin Robideau (whose terms expire in 2021).

2019 Election Rules and Regulations. The 2019 Election Rules and Regulations have been adopted by the Election Committee in accordance with the Tribal Constitution and are being circulated to the membership and throughout the Tribal community.